Illinois AEYC Welcomes Two Newly Appointed Governing Board Members

Illinois AEYC would like to extend a warm welcome to our newly appointed Governing Board Regional Delegates. Both Mary Anne and Ann will fill the remainder of the 2019-2020 term.

Region 4 Delegate- Mary Anne Bjork:

Mary Anne Bjork has been an educational professional for nearly 25 years. She is currently a school psychologist for Plano Area Special Education Cooperative serving early childhood and elementary school students. In addition to her role as a school psychologist, Mary Anne he has been active in early childhood education in northern Illinois as an early childhood administrator and county preschool screening coordinator. She has collaborated with early childhood teams to develop and implement screening, assessment practices, programs and services aligned to developmentally appropriate best practices in early childhood. Mary Anne received her BS in Psychology from Illinois State University in 1989 and her Specialist in School Psychology from Illinois State University in 1995. In 2017, she earned her Director of Special Education endorsement from Northern Illinois University.

Region 14 Delegate- Ann Oswalt

Ann Oswalt is the Early Childhood Director for Regional Office of Education #12's Preschool for All program. She oversees six classrooms in four counties with a total enrollment of 180 students. She has worked with children and families for over 25 years and has been a Family Advocate, a Head Start teacher, and a Home Visitor. She is passionate about being a voice for children and families and strives to build community collaborations to ensure families receive the support they need to help their children learn and grow.

Ann is a graduate of Eastern Illinois University and a graduate student in National Louis University's Master of Early Childhood Administration program. She is married to her husband of 22 years and has a thirteen year old son. As a family they enjoy camping and traveling and are an active part of the middle school band.