NAEYC'S Early Childhood Program Standards

NAEYC's 10 program standards and accreditation criteria are based on a conceptual framework with four areas of focus. These include:

  • Children
  • Teaching Staff
  • Partnerships
  • Administration

Collectively, the ten NAEYC Early Childhood Program standards represent essential, interlocking elements of high-quality programs for all children from birth through kindergarten. "All children" means all; it includes children with developmental delays and disabilities; children whose families are culturally and linguistically diverse; and children from diverse socio-economic groups. It also recognizes that all children have individual learning styles, strengths, and needs.

The Standards

High-quality programs should meet the following standards, as outlined in the NAEYC Accreditation system:

  1. Promote positive relationships for all children and adults
  2. Implement a curriculum that fosters all areas of child development - cognitive, emotional, language, physical, and social
  3. Use developmentally, culturally, and linguistically appropriate and effective teaching approaches
  4. Provide ongoing assessments of child progress
  5. Promote the nutrition and health of children and staff
  6. Employ and support qualified teaching staff
  7. Establish and maintain collaborative relationships with families
  8. Establish and maintain relationships and use resources of the community
  9. Provide a safe and healthy physical environment
  10. Implement strong program management policies that result in high-quality service